Cookies:


After the war, from 1946, he founded the company Veritas, Sport und Rennwagenbau together with Lorenz Dietrich (former commercial director of the BMW plant in Allach), the racing driver and BMW employee Georg "Schorsch" Meier and the former six-day racing cyclist Werner Miethe.

They developed the first vehicles based on the BMW 328 chassis and engines. These new vehicles were called BMW-Veritas. The first major and publicly announced appearance of the Veritas brand ended on 9 May 1948 at the Hockenheimring with class wins by Karl Kling and Georg Meier. Numerous other victories followed, so that BMW AG had the designation BMW-Veritas banned, as they feared that the competition would be too great. The cars were therefore from now on built under the model name Veritas RS (RS for "racing").

Veritas quickly became the dominant brand in all German racing events of the early post-war period. Within a short time, further orders were received and a large number of 30 to 40 RS were sold to foreign customers.

The car shown here was ordered in 1948 by Hans Schuler, a Swiss "Gentleman Driver".

Fascinating and historically very informative is the unique documentation of this German racing car. From the order confirmation on the original Veritas letterhead to the original receipt of the purchase price paid, unique contemporary documents have been preserved and are included in the scope of delivery.

Hans Schuler drove his car at more than 34 documented racing events from 1949 to 1950, including a participation in the German Grand Prix in August 1950. The original "driver card" of Hans Schuler as a participant has been preserved here, on which his starting number and training times were recorded.

The original invitation from the organizer "Automobilclub von Deutschland e. V." to the race with the notification of the starting number 40 is also available in original.

Cookies:


Nach dem Krieg, ab 1946, gründete er zusammen mit Lorenz Dietrich (Ehemals kaufmännischer Leiter des BMW-Werks Allach), dem Rennfahrer und BMW-Mitarbeiter Georg „Schorsch“ Meier und dem früheren Sechstage-Radrennfahrer Werner Miethe die Firma Veritas, Sport und Rennwagenbau.

Sie entwickelten die ersten Fahrzeuge auf Basis der BMW 328 Fahrgestelle und Motoren. Diese neuen Fahrzeuge wurden als BMW-Veritas bezeichnet. Der erste große und öffentlich angekündigte Auftritt der Marke Veritas endete am 9. Mai 1948 auf dem Hockenheimring mit Klassensiegen von Karl Kling und Georg Meier. Es folgten weitere zahlreiche Siege, sodass die BMW AG die Bezeichnung BMW-Veritas verbieten ließ, man befürchtete eine zu große Konkurrenz. Die Wagen wurden daher fortan unter der Modellbezeichnung Veritas RS (RS für „Rennsport“) gebaut.

Schnell entwickelte sich Veritas zur dominierenden Marke bei allen deutschen Rennverstaltungen der frühen Nachkriegszeit. In kurzer Zeit gingen weitere Bestellungen ein, ein Großteil der zwischen 30 und 40 gebauten RS wurden an ausländische Kunden verkauft.

Der hier gezeigte Wagen wurde vom damaligen schweizer „Gentleman Driver“, Hans Schuler im Jahre 1948 bestellt.

Faszinierend und historisch sehr aufschlussreich ist die wohl einmalige Dokumentation dieses deutschen Rennsportwagen, von der Auftragsbestätigung auf dem original Veritas-Briefpapier bis hin zur originalen Quittung des bezahlten Kaufpreises sind einmalige zeitgenössische Dokumente erhalten geblieben und gehören zum Auto.

Hans Schuler steuerte seinen Wagen auf mehr als 34 dokumentierten Rennveranstaltungen von 1949 bis 1950. Darunter auch eine Teilnahme beim Großen Preis von Deutschland im August 1950. Hier ist die originale „Fahrerkarte“ von Hans Schuler als Teilnehmer erhalten geblieben, auf dieser wurde seine Startnummer wie auch seine Trainingszeiten festgehalten.

Die originale Einladung vom Veranstalter „Automobilclub von Deutschland e. V.“ zum Rennen mit der Benachrichtigung über die Startnummer Vergabe 40 liegt ebenfalls im Original vor.