Cookies:


The possibility to order Willys Jeeps in large quantities in the USA for Europe did not exist after the war.

Therefore they developed their own vehicle in England, which had these characteristics. The first prototype and the first pre-series vehicles were built in 1947 and 1948. The first series was built from 1949 to 1958, the second series with an 88'' chassis was built from 1958 to 1961.

The car shown here is a series II 88''. For the expert, the chassis number provides some information.

The chassis number of this car is: 141901877

  • Digit no. 1, in this case the 1: beginning of all chassis numbers of all series
  • No. 2 and No. 3, in this case 41: marking for series II
  • Number 4, in this case 9: Indication of year of manufacture (1959)

The remaining five digits identify the current production number, in this case: 01877

Dave Lindsay grew up in New Zealand as a child and learned to drive a Series II Land Rover at the age of eight.

In later years Lindsay moved to England and found this car in a garage in Hampshire. It took years before he had the chance to buy the car. The car had a very good, original substance and Dave began to restore the car completely.

95% of the bodywork was preserved in its original state. The 20,000 miles the speedometer displayed at the start of the restoration could have been the original total mileage until then. Also when disassembling the axles and the transmission, only little wear and tear showed up.

Dave discovered that the car was delivered to a dealer in Guildford in January 1959 and was first registered on January 20, 1959.

The whole restoration history was described in detail in a very nice article in the English newspaper "Classic Land Rover" in issue no. 30 in November 2015. This newspaper is available in the original.

The car presents itself today in mint condition.

Cookies:


Die Möglichkeit Willys Jeeps in großer Stückzahl in den USA für Europa zu bestellen gab es nach dem Krieg nicht.

Deshalb entwickelte man in England ein eigenes Fahrzeug, das diese Eigenschaften hatte. Der erste Prototyp und die ersten Vorserien-Fahrzeuge entstanden in den Jahren 1947 und 1948. Die erste Serie wurde gebaut von 1949 bis 1958, die zweite Serie mit einem 88’’ Chassis wurde von 1958 bis 1961 gebaut.

Der hier gezeigte Wagen ist ein Serie II 88’’. Dem Kenner verrät die Fahrgestellnummer einige Informationen.

Die Fahrgestellnummer von diesem Wagen lautet: 141901877

  • Ziffer Nr. 1, in diesem Fall die 1: Anfang aller Fahrgestellnummern aller Serien
  • Ziffer Nr. 2 und Nr. 3, in diesem Fall 41: Kennzeichnung für Serie II
  • Ziffer Nr. 4, in diesem Fall 9: Indikation für das Baujahr (1959)

Die verbleibenden fünf Ziffern kennzeichnen die laufende Produktionsnummer, in diesem Fall: 01877

Dave Lindsay wuchs als Kind in Neuseeland auf und lernte das Autofahren als Achtjähriger auf genau so einem Serie II Land Rover. Lindsay zog in späteren Jahren nach England und fand in Hampshire diesen Wagen untergestellt in einer Werkstatt.

Es dauerte Jahre bis er die Chance erhielt den Wagen zu kaufen. Der Land Rover hatte eine sehr gute, originale Substanz und Dave machte sich daran das Auto komplett zu restaurieren.

95% der Karosserie konnten im Original erhalten werden. Die 20.000 Meilen, die der Tacho bei Restaurationsbeginn zeigte, könnte die originale Gesamtlaufleistung bis dahin gewesen sein. Auch beim Zerlegen der Achsen und des Getriebes zeigte sich nur wenig Verschleiß.

Dave fand heraus, dass der Wagen im Januar 1959 an einen Händler in Guildford ausgeliefert und erstmals am 20.01.1959 zugelassen wurde.

Die gesamte Restaurationsgeschichte wurde in der englischen Zeitung „Classic Land Rover“ in der Ausgabe Nr. 30 im November 2015 in einem sehr schönen Artikel genau beschrieben. Diese Zeitung liegt im Original vor.

Das Auto präsentiert sich heute im neuwertigen Zustand.