Cookies:


Wilbur A. Gunn was an engineer and a passionate opera singer. He emigrated from the USA to England at the end of the 19th century. There he founded the Lagonda company in 1899 and began building motorbikes.

  • British first delivery
  • Factory body
  • Very extensive documentation

Over the years, Lagonda expanded its range to include numerous car models and quickly made a name for exclusivity and sportiness.

The world economic crisis also hit Lagonda hard until the mid-1930s. Sales figures were miserable and in 1935 the company was economically up against the wall and for sale. It was the victory in the legendary endurance race, the 24 Hours of Le Mans, that helped enormously to find a motivated buyer.

Alan P. Good bought the company in the summer of 1935 and with his new technical director, Walter Owen Bentley and the young coachbuilder Frank Feeley, exciting new models were created in this new Lagonda era. W. O. Bentley was able to break away from his unpopular employer Rolls-Royce after five years and developed powerful and convincing engines again.

Thus, the Lagonda V12 was one of a small group of cars that could reach a top speed of over 100 miles per hour - an incredible achievement by the standards of the time!

The Lagonda V12 Drophead Coupe shown here was delivered new to the UK in 1938 to H. L. Quartermaine and registered on 30 July that year. According to the Lagonda Club, the car has been with a collector in Switzerland and in the famous Schlumpf collection in Mulhouse, France, among others.

In 1992, Jacques Harguindeguy of Walnut Creek, California imported the Lagonda V12 into the US. In 2010 the car was shipped back to the UK and was last part of a fantastic collection here in Germany of one of our long-time clients.

The scope of delivery includes a detailed documentation of the car’s history. We also have the Lagonda factory built sheets, which confirm that the Lagonda was delivered with an ex-factory body.

Cookies:


Wilbur A. Gunn war Ingenieur und leidenschaftlicher Opernsänger. Er emigrierte Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts aus den USA nach England. Dort gründete er 1899 die Firma Lagonda und begann mit dem Bau von Motorrädern.

  • Britische Erstauslieferung
  • Werkskarosserie
  • Sehr umfangreiche Dokumentation

Im Laufe der Jahre erweiterte Lagonda das Angebot um zahlreiche Automodelle und machte sich schnell einen Namen für Exklusivität und Sportlichkeit.

Die Weltwirtschaftskrise machte auch Lagonda bis in die Mitte der 1930er Jahre schwer zu schaffen. Die Absatzzahlen waren miserabel und im Jahre 1935 stand die Firma wirtschaftlich mit dem Rücken zur Wand und zum Verkauf. Es war der Sieg beim legendären Langstreckenrennen, bei den 24 Stunden von Le Mans, der enorm half einen motivierten Käufer zu finden.

Alan P. Good erwarb das Unternehmen im Sommer 1935. Mit seinem neuen technischen Direktor, Walter Owen Bentley und dem jungen Karosseriedesigner Frank Feeley entstanden in dieser neuen Lagonda Ära aufregend schöne neue Modelle. W. O. Bentley konnte sich nach fünf Jahren bei ihm unbeliebten Arbeitgeber Rolls-Royce lösen und wieder leistungsstarke und überzeugende Motoren entwickeln.

So zählte der Lagonda V12 zu einer kleinen Gruppe von Autos, die eine Höchstgeschwindigkeit von über 100 Meilen pro Stunde erreichen konnte – für die damaligen Verhältnisse eine unglaubliche Leistung!

Das hier gezeigte Lagonda V12 Drophead Coupe wurde 1938 nach Großbritannien an H. L. Quartermaine ausgeliefert und am 30. Juli desselben Jahres zugelassen. Das Fahrzeug war laut dem Lagonda Club unter anderem bei einem Sammler in der Schweiz und in der berühmten Schlumpf Sammlung in Mühlhausen, Frankreich.

1992 importierte Jacques Harguindeguy aus Walnut Creek, Kalifornien den Lagonda V12 in die USA. 2010 wurde der Wagen dann zurück nach Großbritannien verschifft und war zuletzt Teil einer tollen Sammlung in Deutschland von einem unserer langjährigen Kunden.

Zum Lieferumfang gehört eine ausführliche Dokumentation der Historie des Fahrzeugs. Außerdem liegen uns die Lagonda–Werksauslieferungsdokumente vor, die bestätigen, dass der Lagonda mit einer Werkskarosserie ausgeliefert wurde.